chattermoon.blogg.se

Best and simple code editor for mac
Best and simple code editor for mac









  1. #BEST AND SIMPLE CODE EDITOR FOR MAC FULL#
  2. #BEST AND SIMPLE CODE EDITOR FOR MAC WINDOWS 10#
  3. #BEST AND SIMPLE CODE EDITOR FOR MAC PRO#
  4. #BEST AND SIMPLE CODE EDITOR FOR MAC MAC#

That machine is a 2013 i7 iMac with 32GB of RAM.

#BEST AND SIMPLE CODE EDITOR FOR MAC FULL#

Now, it's quite pleasant to work with him on my lap, and I've set up a full workstation that allows me to sit in the living room and share my lap with both the keyboard and the dog. This goes back to the days of when my dog was a pup, and he used to go through withdrawal when I worked in the office. My primary development machine is actually downstairs, next to the couch. That machine is also the machine I use for video production. That said, I've been running Windows on my upstairs office Mac, which is the one with the most speed and capacity. I find the ability to run Windows, Mac, and Linux on the same machine to be hugely helpful in certain circumstances. I mentioned Parallels Desktop in my intro to this article. Yeah, there are still IE11 users out there.

#BEST AND SIMPLE CODE EDITOR FOR MAC WINDOWS 10#

A must for any WordPress plugin coder.īecause I'm doing web development, I have to check my code on Windows-based browsers, which means I need to launch Windows 10 to test the new Edge, Chrome, Firefox, and - forgive me, Father, for I have sinned - IE11.

  • WordPress: Syntax and WordPress-aware function formatting, along with support for WordPress hooks.
  • String Manipulation: All sorts of string tweaks, case conversions, and more.
  • It makes it very easy to see what code belongs to what other code.
  • Rainbow Brackets: A wonderful plugin that matches brackets not only with lines but colors.
  • Plus, it has a rich selection of plugins that expand and enhance the coding experience. It also has a wide range of other integrated features I use daily, ranging from its own terminal window to file synchronization to version control and line-by-line file history.

    best and simple code editor for mac

    It has an excellent integrated debugging environment that allows for both local and remote debugging.

    #BEST AND SIMPLE CODE EDITOR FOR MAC MAC#

    And still other coders, myself included, prefer full-blown integrated development environments like PhpStorm, Visual Studio Code, and Xcode (mainly for its Mac and iOS native development tools). Others prefer more extendable editors like Atom and Sublime Text. Some coders prefer light-duty text editors. Some programmers swear by going old school, relying solely on the command line and editors like vi and emacs. The subject of code editing and developing environments has sparked more religious debates than I care to count.

    best and simple code editor for mac

    In a future piece, I'll dive back in and show you the cloud-based services that help get the job done. In this piece, I'm going to show you the installed tools.

    best and simple code editor for mac

    To create and maintain the code, I use the wide range of tools shown below. While I have programmed in many languages in the past (and written my own), my current projects involve coding primarily in PHP and JavaScript, with CSS, HTML, and SQL (as well as some frameworks) rounding out the mix. I maintain 10 open-source WordPress plugins, including a donations plugin that supports more than 10,000 nonprofits and a site privacy plugin that supports more than 20,000 sites. While I have coded Mac apps and iOS apps in the past, my coding now is entirely for the web. Many are cross-platform, while others are Mac-specific. In this article, I'm going to show you the tools I use. While Windows offers a robust command-line environment, I like having a full Linux-style command line as well as a complete complement of the Mac's well-integrated graphical tools. I like being able to run Windows, Linux, and Mac applications on the same machine, which is only possible on a Mac (I'll talk more about that below).

    #BEST AND SIMPLE CODE EDITOR FOR MAC PRO#

    The fact is, I gain a lot of productivity from Mac-specific apps, particularly Final Cut Pro X for video production. Over the years, I've jumped between platforms, but I find myself regularly returning to the Mac.

    best and simple code editor for mac

    By contrast, nearly twice as many developers (45.8%) use Windows as their development machines. According to the 2020 Stack Overflow Developer Survey, more coders work on Macs (27.5%) than on Linux (26.6%), but only by a very small margin.











    Best and simple code editor for mac